IB World SchoolEst. 1995

International School · Day School · Secondary School

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School

Nagoya, Japan

Last updated: May 1, 2026

Curriculum
IGCSE / A-Level / IB Diploma
Tuition
¥574,800+(2025-2026) $3,608+
Students
~688
Visit Website

Overview

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School is an international IGCSE, A-Levels, IB Diploma Programme school for ages 12–18 in Nagoya, Japan. Founded in 1995, it has approximately 688 students. Annual tuition: ¥574,800–¥1,093,900.

NUCB International Junior & Senior High School (名古屋国際中学校・高等学校) is a prestigious private bilingual school in Nagoya, Japan, affiliated with Nagoya University of Commerce and Business. Offering a six-year integrated program from junior high through high school, the school provides multiple academic tracks including IB Diploma, Advanced, and International courses. With average IB Diploma scores of 37.2 in 2024 — well above the global average — graduates regularly gain admission to top universities worldwide including UCLA, University of British Columbia, and Yonsei University. The school's 'frontier spirit' philosophy cultivates independent, globally minded learners in small-class bilingual settings, with 10 native English-speaking teachers on staff.

At a Glance

1

IB Diploma & dual pathways — Offers IB Diploma track (25 places) plus Advanced/International Liberal Arts programs, nearly 100% university advancement

2

Moderately selective — Junior high admits 105 students from 309+ applicants (2.9:1 ratio); International Liberal Arts high school track most competitive at 2.5:1

3

Multiple entry points — Junior high offers 3 exam types (A/B standard + Global track) with score optimization; high school has Recommendation, IB, and General exams

4

Strong bilingual focus — 10 native English teachers on staff; MEXT-designated Super Global High School with WWL Project participation

5

Elite university placements — Graduates attend Nagoya, Waseda, Keio, ICU domestically plus international institutions including Rensselaer Polytechnic (US)

Schoozy Intelligence

Our own read of this school, drawn from public sources and kept separate from the school's own material.

A Japanese day school in Nagoya pairing the national curriculum with an English-medium IB pathway, reporting Diploma scores above the global average.

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School (NIHS) is a private, bilingual Article 1 day school of roughly 681 students that combines Japanese secondary schooling with authorised IB Middle Years and Diploma Programmes, with most Diploma subjects, Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay taught in English. The school reports average Diploma scores in recent years above the global mean (around 37 in 2024, with two perfect 45s) and, for its 2026 cohort, 11 acceptances to universities in the THE 2026 top 200 — figures the school reports as acceptances rather than where graduates enrolled. Published 2025 first-year mandatory totals run from ¥818,900 to ¥1,093,900, and there is no boarding.

An editorial summary of the sections below — not a rating or ranking.

Best for
Families who want a Japanese secondary qualification and an English-medium IB pathway in one school, students with the English proficiency (around CEFR B2) needed for the IB route, and returnee or transferring families seeking dedicated re-entry routes into a Japanese-system school with strong English exposure. Families comfortable with a structured, uniform-based environment and a day-school commute.
Things to consider
This is a day school with no boarding, and admissions rules require living with a parent/guardian after enrolment. The IB route requires demonstrated English proficiency, so language readiness is a genuine gate. Published 2025 first-year mandatory totals reach ¥1,093,900 for the International/IB classes and the school says tuition can rise under a sliding system (capped at 3% year-on-year), so confirm the current schedule. Access is a roughly seven-minute walk from Gokiso Station with no school bus identified. Reported outcomes are acceptances, not matriculation, and a new principal takes office from April 2026. Verify the specific curriculum offered, as only IB DP and MYP (not IGCSE or A-Level) were independently confirmed.

Known for

  • Japanese curriculum plus English-medium IB
  • IB Diploma scores above the global average
  • Multiple entry routes with returnee pathways

Learning environment

How lessons run
Mostly taught content
TaughtInquiry
The school day is organised around eight or seven timetabled periods of discrete academic subjects, with a single required independent inquiry project layered onto that subject structure.
Academic load
Demanding
LighterHeavier
Students follow a full-day, multi-subject academic timetable with a dedicated preparation period and a staged external-examination pathway through the IB Diploma.
Student choice
Guided independence
Set for themChosen by them
Within a set IB subject sequence, students complete a required independent Personal Project on a topic of their own choosing.
Daily structure
Structured
FlexibleHighly governed
Daily life is governed by a published uniform and appearance code, punctuality expectations, and formally regulated club hours with rest days.
How students are assessed
Examinations and coursework in similar measure
ExaminationsProjects
Grades combine IB written and practical coursework —- projects, portfolios, essays and practicals —- with the externally examined structure of the Diploma Programme.

A wider bar means the published evidence narrows the position to a range rather than a point.

Tuition & Fees

Tuition

¥574,800+(2025-2026) $3,608+

Application Fee

¥220,000 $1,381

Deposit

¥220,000 $1,381

Est. First Year Total

¥1,027,800 $6,452

Tuition by Grade

GradeAnnual TuitionApplication FeeDeposit
Junior High to Senior High (6-Year Integrated — General Class)¥574,800 $3,608¥13,000 $82-
Junior High to Senior High (6-Year Integrated — IB/International Class)¥574,800 $3,608¥13,000 $82-
Senior High School (3-Year — Non-IB)¥574,800 $3,608¥13,000 $82-
Senior High School (3-Year — IB Diploma Programme)¥574,800 $3,608¥13,000 $82-
View All Fees

Additional Fees

Enrolment Fee

¥220,000 $1,381

Approximate values based on ECB reference rates (Aug 24 – 28, 2026). Actual amounts may vary.

Scholarships & Financial Aid

8

Kurumoto Gakuen Academic Scholarship

Merit-Based
Eligibility: Outstanding new entrants with top academic performance and character; up to 2 junior high students and 4 high school students (including internal JH→SH graduates) selected per year. Reviewed in September of the first year.Grade Levels: secondary

Entrance Exam B Scholarship

Merit-Based
Eligibility: Top-scoring B exam candidates who embody the school's frontier spirit and academic excellence. Up to 2 students per year. Scholarship re-evaluated annually based on end-of-year grades and special notes.Grade Levels: secondary

Academic Excellence Scholarship

Merit-Based
Eligibility: Top-ranking new students identified by admissions scores. Applies for the first year and re-evaluated annually.Grade Levels: secondary

Special Scholarship (Tokutaisei)

Merit-Based
Eligibility: Exceptionally qualified entrants. Very rare. Full waiver of both admission fee and tuition.Grade Levels: secondary

Household Emergency Grant

Need-Based
Eligibility: Continuing families facing sudden financial hardship. Assessed case-by-case. Provides partial tuition reduction.Grade Levels: secondary

Sibling Tuition Discount

Sibling Discount
Eligibility: Families with two or more children simultaneously enrolled. 20% tuition reduction applies to the second and subsequent children.Grade Levels: secondary

Returnee Support Scholarship

Special
Eligibility: Students returning to Japan after study abroad. Eligible returnee students receive tuition support; details vary by year.Grade Levels: secondary

Government Tuition Subsidy (Aichi Prefecture)

Need-Based
Eligibility: Qualifying households by income level. Aichi Prefecture and national high-school support grant programs. Available since 2020.Grade Levels: secondary

Curriculum & Academics

Languages of Instruction

Languages of Instruction

JapaneseEnglish

Compulsory / Optional

English

Subjects Offered

3 subjects

IB Diploma(3)

Languages
Japanese
Humanities
Theory of Knowledge
Other
Extended Essay

Accreditations & Memberships

1 accreditation
IB
IB World School
International
Cambridge International
International Baccalaureate (IBO)

Outcomes & Results

Exam Results

IB Diploma

2024

Average score

37.2 / 45

Highest score

45 / 45

40+ points

0.32 %

2023

Average score

36.8 / 45

Highest score

45 / 45

2022

Average score

36.4 / 45

2021

Average score

35.9 / 45

University Destinations

University of Toronto
QS Top 50
1 student
University of British Columbia
QS Top 50
1 student
Yonsei University1 student
University of California, Los Angeles
QS Top 50
1 student
Washington University in St. Louis1 student
Monash University
QS Top 100
1 student
University of Sydney
QS Top 50
1 student
Peking University1 student
Jacobs University1 student
Osaka University
QS Top 100
1 student

Reputation & Recognition

In the News

Admissions

Selectivity:
selective

Admissions Overview

NUCB International offers multiple entrance paths for both junior high (6-year integrated program) and standalone high school. Junior high admissions include two winter exams (A and B) in early January, with applicants choosing between the general class (Japanese/Math/Social/Science) or international class (Japanese/Math/English). High school admissions feature three tracks: Recommendation Entrance (with interview), IB Entrance (with interview), and General Entrance (written only). Application fee is ¥13,000 per exam. No nationality or religion restrictions apply. The school is academically selective with a roughly 2.9:1 applicant-to-seat ratio for the integrated program.

Requirements

Junior High (6-Year Integrated Program — International Class)

Written TestMath TestEnglish Test

English Requirement: Intermediate English

Acceptance Rate: 0.34%

Application Fee: 13,000

High School — International Course Entrance (国際教養科)

Written TestEnglish Test

English Requirement: Advanced English

Acceptance Rate: 0.41%

Application Fee: 13,000

Key Dates

Junior High A Exam (6-year Integrated Program)2026-01-06

Junior high entrance exam A window for the 6-year integrated program. General class (Japanese/Math/Social/Science) or International class (Japanese/Math/English).

Register
Junior High B Exam (6-year Integrated Program)2026-01-12

Junior high entrance exam B window. Top scorers eligible for entrance exam B scholarship.

Register
High School Recommendation and IB Entrance Exams2026-01-14

Written tests and interviews for Recommendation track and IB entrance track (high school). General entrance exam is also in early January.

Register

School Life

Support & Wellbeing

Co-curricular Activities

8 activities

Team Sports(2)

FootballBasketball

Grades: Secondary

Individual Sports(1)

Tennis

Grades: Secondary

Music(1)

Wind Band

Grades: Secondary

Drama & Theatre(1)

Drama Club

Grades: Secondary

Academic Clubs(1)

Model United Nations

Grades: Secondary

Visual Arts(1)

Visual Arts Club

Grades: Secondary

School-specific(1)

Global Volunteer Club

Grades: Secondary

Facilities

7 facilities

Academic Facilities(1)

Main Library· Indoor

Wellbeing(1)

Medical Center· Indoor

School-specific(5)

Health Center
Library and E-Learning Center
Health Infirmary
Sports Facilities
E-Learning Center

Location & Access

Getting There

Misono Station (Tsuruma Line / Sakura-dori Line)

NUCB International Junior & Senior High School

7 min walk

Public Transport

Nearest station is Misono Station (Tsuruma Line / Sakura-dori Line), 7 minutes on foot. Many students commute from outside Nagoya city. Bicycle commuting also permitted with proper procedure.

Coverage Areas: Nagoya city and surrounding suburbs; accessible from wider Aichi Prefecture

Campuses

Main Campus

NUCB International Junior & Senior High School

Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture, Japan

7 min walk from Misono Station (Tsuruma Line / Sakura-dori Line)
Nearest station is Misono Station (Tsuruma Line / Sakura-dori Line), 7 minutes on foot. Many students commute from outside Nagoya city. Bicycle and public transit commutes are permitted with proper procedure.
School library, e-learning center, on-site infirmary (保健室), standard secondary school facilities

Schoozy Intelligence — Deep Dive

The full read on each topic, with the sources behind it. Open only what you need.

IB World School status verified; no independent ranking found

The school's IB World School authorization is independently confirmed by the IB, but no independent ranking or inspection evidence was located.

Read analysis

What is independently confirmed

The International Baccalaureate directory independently confirms the school as an IB World School, authorized for the Diploma Programme on 8 December 2014 and the Middle Years Programme on 14 February 2024. This confirms programme authorization only; it is not a comparative ranking and not a claim that the school is objectively superior to others.

What could not be established

A search of the school name against ranking and inspection publishers did not locate independent ranking or inspection-grade evidence such as Tatler, Spear's, ISC, BSO, Ofsted-style inspection, or Niche. On the available material, the picture rests mainly on programme authorization and the school's own reporting, so families should not read prestige claims into the absence of such coverage.

Multiple entry routes, applicant-to-capacity ratios published, no acceptance rate

All admissions information here comes from the school's own published guidelines; the school reports capacity and applicant-to-capacity ratios but does not publish an acceptance rate.

Read analysis

Source note

Every figure and rule in this section comes from the school's own published guidelines and results tables. No independent source on admissions was available, so this is a factual summary of what the school states, not an independent verification of how selective it is in practice.

Capacity and ratios

The school does not publish an acceptance rate or an annual application total. For 2026 middle-school entry it published capacity of 105 general entrants plus 15 returnee-transfer places, with overseas-transfer places explicitly contingent on actual enrolment.

The published results table reports applicant-to-capacity ratios rather than acceptance rates: for 2024 it lists 309 applicants for 105 junior-school places (2.9), 103 applicants for 65 senior-high general-course places (1.6), and 196 applicants for 80 international-liberal-arts places (2.5).

Assessment components by route

For 2026 junior-school entry, the A and B examinations had no interview; international-class papers were Japanese, mathematics and English (including listening), while the global examination used Japanese and mathematics, an applicant questionnaire, and a group interview of 3–5 applicants with no parent interview. Global-route eligibility required exclusive application plus at least one of a stated motivation criterion, two years of IB PYP, two years' overseas residence accompanying a parent's overseas work assignment, or Eiken Pre-2-equivalent English.

For 2026 senior-high entry, the IB route comprised an essay and an interview in Japanese and English including an English self-presentation; the recommendation route included a Japanese interview; and the general route assessed Japanese, mathematics, English, social studies and science with no interview. Recommendation applicants had to apply exclusively, be recommended by their current middle-school principal, have no more than 10 absences in each school year, and live with a parent after enrolment.

The school separately describes IB admission as 'very competitive', with documented components of an English essay, a maths exam, an interview, academic records and specified English-proficiency results. This is a school statement, not an independently measured finding.

Returnee and transfer entry

The current returnee-transfer process lists five places in each of junior-school years 1–3 and five in each of senior-high years 1–2 in the general and international-liberal-arts courses. Timing is rolling, with dates set by contact with the school. Eligibility includes exclusive application, ability to take classes in Japanese, living with a parent after enrolment, and specified overseas-residence conditions. Selection is document review, 45-minute tests in Japanese, mathematics and English, and an approximately 15-minute interview with a parent present; a pre-application visit with the applicant is required.

681 students, returnee routes, and foreign-national presence without published counts

Government and school sources place the roll at 681 students with a documented foreign-national presence and returnee intake, but no nationality breakdown or local/international split is published.

Read analysis

Roll size and structure

The school reports 681 students on 1 May 2026: 211 in junior high and 470 in senior high. It states there is no school-district restriction and operates dedicated returnee admissions routes, but it does not publish nationality counts or a local/international percentage breakdown.

A MEXT-published programme output dated 1 November 2022 records 421 full-time high-school students across course types: 197 in the integrated secondary course, 41 in the IB course, 26 in the general course, 58 in the global inquiry course, and 99 in the international studies department. This is an earlier snapshot of the senior-high mix.

International and returnee presence

A MEXT case study describes the school as having many foreign-national teachers and students, but provides no counts, percentages or nationality breakdown. A Japan Overseas Educational Services listing states transfer-enrolment experience of approximately 20 returning students per year; this is an annual transfer figure, not a measure of the total share of returning students in the roll.

Because no source publishes a nationality or local/international split, the composition of the community can be described only in these general terms.

University acceptances reported, but no matriculation or destination data

The school reports university acceptances, including 11 to THE top-200 universities for 2026, but publishes acceptances rather than where graduates actually enrolled; all figures are self-reported.

Read analysis

Source note

Both figures below come from the school's own press and results material. No independent source on outcomes was available, so this is a factual summary of the school's claims, not an independent verification.

What the school reports

For the March 2026 graduating cohort, the school reports 11 acceptances to institutions in the THE World University Rankings 2026 top 200. This is an acceptance claim, not a matriculation figure; the school does not state how many distinct students or leavers enrolled at those universities.

The official multi-year university table reports graduating cohorts of 137 in 2026, 123 in 2025 and 119 in 2024, but it is an admissions/acceptances table and does not provide a destination or matriculation list. Because the school does not state how many distinct students enrolled, these figures should not be read as counts of individual students placed.

A few older reviews mention an English-rich environment

A small number of public reviews mention routine exposure to English and English-speaking staff, but the sample is tiny and dated.

Read analysis

What public reviews mention

Across two review platforms, three public parent or student mentions describe routine exposure to English and to English-speaking teaching staff. All three are positive on this single theme, but the sample is very small: two mentions are from late 2023 and one is from April 2020.

This is too little, and too dated, to represent parent or student opinion generally, or to establish any theme beyond this one. It should be read only as a signal that some reviewers valued the English environment, not as a measured consensus.

New principal from April 2026 and recent MYP authorization

Recent developments include a new principal from April 2026, the school's 2026 university-acceptance announcement, and independently recorded MYP authorization in February 2024.

Read analysis

Leadership and programme changes

The school's homepage records that Steven McLellan became principal from April 2026. Families who value leadership continuity may wish to ask how this transition affects staffing and pastoral arrangements.

Independently, the IB directory records Middle Years Programme authorization on 14 February 2024, a material recent programme development that broadens the school's IB provision beyond the Diploma Programme.

Recent results announcement

In April 2026 the school announced that its March 2026 graduates recorded 11 acceptances to universities in the THE World University Rankings 2026 top 200. This is a school announcement of acceptances, not an independently verified enrolment figure.

Day school, English-heavy IB, six-figure fees and a station commute

Key fit constraints are that this is a day school with no boarding, an English-intensive IB pathway with a proficiency requirement, published first-year fees up to ¥1,093,900, and a station-based commute with no school transport identified.

Read analysis

Source note

One item here (the boarding status) is independently confirmed by the IB directory; the language, fee and access constraints rest on the school's own published material, so families should verify current details directly with the school.

Day school and language fit

This is a day school: the IB directory records no boarding facilities, and admissions rules require students to commute from a parent or guardian's home after enrolment. Families requiring residential provision should not treat this as a boarding option.

For the IB pathway, most DP subjects, Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay are conducted in English while Group 1 is Japanese, and applicants must demonstrate English proficiency through specified tests or CEFR B2. This creates a documented language-fit constraint that families should weigh against a child's current English level.

Fees and commute

Published 2025 first-year mandatory totals are ¥818,900 for the general/advanced route and ¥1,093,900 for the junior-high International Class or senior-high IB Class, before any unlisted personal expenses. Families should confirm the 2026/2027 schedule, because the school states tuition can change under a sliding system capped at 3% year-on-year.

The commute is documented as about a seven-minute walk from Gokiso Station, with Nagoya Station to Gokiso roughly 15 minutes on the Sakura-dori Line. No school-run bus, shuttle or airport-transfer service was identified on the official access page, so families should plan for independent travel.

About the School

Established
1995

Mission

NUCB International Junior and Senior High School encourages independent, critical and creative thinking, and intellectual courage in a compassionate, globally aware community that respects differences and is committed both to academic excellence and to the world.

Educational philosophy

The school is built on the founding motto of 'frontier spirit,' which encourages students to develop independent, critical, and creative thinking alongside intellectual courage. Set within a bilingual Japanese-English environment, the philosophy emphasizes global citizenship, respect for cultural differences, and a commitment to both academic excellence and meaningful engagement with the world. The IB curriculum serves as a cornerstone, providing a rigorous internationally recognized framework that prepares students for competitive universities worldwide.

Frequently Asked Questions

What curriculum does Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School teach?

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School follows the IB Diploma Programme. Students sit IGCSE and A-Levels.

Is Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School an IB World School?

Yes, Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School is an IB World School offering the IB Diploma Programme.

How much is annual tuition at Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School?

Annual tuition at Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School ranges from ¥574,800 to ¥1,093,900 (JPY), depending on the grade level.

What additional fees should I budget for at Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School?

In addition to tuition, Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School charges a registration fee of ¥220,000, deposit of ¥220,000.

What are the admission requirements for Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School?

NUCB International offers multiple entrance paths for both junior high (6-year integrated program) and standalone high school. Junior high admissions include two winter exams (A and B) in early January, with applicants choosing between the general class (Japanese/Math/Social/Science) or international class (Japanese/Math/English). High school admissions feature three tracks: Recommendation Entrance (with interview), IB Entrance (with interview), and General Entrance (written only). Application fee is ¥13,000 per exam. No nationality or religion restrictions apply. The school is academically selective with a roughly 2.9:1 applicant-to-seat ratio for the integrated program.

When is the application deadline for Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School?

The application deadline for Junior High A Exam (6-year Integrated Program) is 2026-01-06.

Where is Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School located?

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School is located in Nagoya, Japan.

What ages does Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School accept?

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School accepts students from age 12 to 18.

How many students attend Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School?

Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School has approximately 688 students.

Inquire about Nagoya International Junior & Senior High School

Step 1 of 2

We aim to reply within 24 hours.

Explore More Schools

Learn about these curricula

Compare, fees & rankings

About this data

Last updated: May 1, 2026

Sources: the school's official website, accreditation bodies (e.g. IBO, CIS), and public records.